The second Horizon 2020 call for proposals, offering the EU-funded Innovative Training Networks (ITN) a total of €370 million, is now open. The Innovative Training Networks is an action under the Horizon 2020 activity, Marie Skłodowska-Curie actions.

Support will be given to competitive selected joint research training and/or doctoral programmes, implemented by partnerships of universities, research institutions, research infrastructures, businesses, SMEs, and other socio-economic actors from different countries across Europe and beyond. Partnerships take the form of collaborative European Training Networks (ETN), European Industrial Doctorates (EID) or European Joint Doctorates (EJD).

The call H2020-MSCA-ITN-2015 is open until 13 January 2015, 17.00 Brussels time.

  • Fields medals 2014

    At the opening ceremony of the International Congress of Mathematicians 2014 on August 13, 2014, the Fields Medals, the Nevanlinna Prize, the Gauss Prize, and the Chern Medal Award  were awarded. In addition, the winner of the Leelavati Prize and the speaker of the ICM Emmy Noether Lecture were announced.
    Fields medalists:
    Artur Avila (Instituto Nacional de Matemática Pura e Aplicada and University Paris 7; Dynamical systems)
    Manjul Bhargava (Princeton University; Geometry of numbers)

  • Changes to the EMS Website

    As you may have noticed, the EMS website has recently been updated. The new layout and appearance is designed to make the website work well on mobile and tablets devices, as well as providing much more inherent structure to the website's content.

    You will find lots of useful features as you browse and interact with the site, such as application of geographical data, entering LaTeX, etc. So you are encouraged to explore.

  • EMS council elects new officers

    At its meeting on June 28, the council of the EMS elected three officers who will take over at the very beginning of 2015.

    • EMS president: Pavel Exner,  Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic
    • Secretary: Sjoerd Verduyn Lunel, Utrecht University, the Netherlands
    • Treasurer: Mats Gyllenberg, University of Helsinki, Finland
    • Moreover, Volker Mehrmann, TU Berlin, Germany, was reelected as member-at-large of the EMS executive committee.

From the President

Message from the President (20 Apr 14)

By the end of this year, my term as President of the European Mathematical Society will come to an end. This is therefore my last traditional annual message, and I would like to start it by sending you all my belated best wishes for a very prosperous and peaceful year 2014. A great deal of our activity in the forthcoming months will be focused on the organization of the Council meeting.