News from the EMS

Latest news for mathematicians and members of the European Mathematical Society.

ERC consolidator grants to 312 mid-career top researchers

The European Research Council (ERC) has selected 312 top scientists in its first Consolidator Grant competition. These mid-career scientists are awarded a total of nearly €575 million. Grants are worth up to €2.75 million each, with an average of €1.84 million per grant. Twelve of these grants went to European mathematicians.

Gerd Faltings awarded King Faisal Prize

Gerd Faltings, Director at the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in Bonn and Professor at the University of Bonn, was awarded the 2014 King Faisal International Prize for Science for his groundbreaking contributions to algebraic geometry and number theory. This was announced by the president of the King Faisal Foundation, Prince Khaled Al-Faisal, on 14 January 2014. Previous prize-winners within mathematics are Michael Atiyah (1987), Dennis P. Sullivan (1994) Andrew J. Wiles (1998), Yuri I.

Balzan Prize in mathematics to be awarded in 2014

The General Prize Committee announced that the 2014 Balzan Prizes will be awarded in the following fields:
Classical Archaeology; Epistemology and Philosophy of Mind; Basic and/or applied Plant Ecology; Mathematics (pure or applied).

Marc Yor 1949 - 2014

With deep regret we inform about the decease of Professor Marc Yor (24 July 1949 - 10 January 2014). Marc was a Professor at the University Pierre et Marie Curie in Paris and a member of the French Academy of Sciences. His very prolific scientific work constitutes a contribution to stochastic processes and its applications of the highest magnitude, and a source of study and inspiration for a whole generation of probabilists and for future researchers.

Call from the EMS Committee for European Solidarity

Call for travel grant applications and event funding requests:
The EMS Committee for European Solidarity calls for travel grant applications from young researchers and funding requests from organisers of conferences or advanced courses to be held in 2014 or 2015.
Decisions will be taken at two deadlines, normally in April and October. Further information and application forms can be found in the Committee's web page

Jean-Pierre Bourguignon appointed next President of the ERC

The European Commission has appointed Professor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon as the next President of the European Research Council (ERC), the EU's premier funding body for investigator-driven frontier research. Professor Bourguignon, a mathematician and French national, will take over in his new role as of 1 January 2014, replacing Professor Helga Nowotny. He will be the first ERC President to be based in Brussels, in a new reinforced role where he will devote most of his time to the job.

First calls for HORIZON 2020 issued

Horizon 2020 is the new EU funding programme for research and innovation running from 2014 to 2020 with a €70 billion budget. The first calls for proposals for Horizon 2020 have been issued on December 12, among them calls for proposals for ERC Grants and for Marie Sklodowska-Curie Actions and Staff Exchange Programs.

MPE2013 moves into Mathematics of Planet Earth

On January 1, 2014, the international project “Mathematics of Planet Earth 2013” (MPE2013) will continue as “Mathematics of Planet Earth” (MPE). The objectives remain unchanged – identify fundamental research questions about Planet Earth and reach out to the general public.

ICMI announces 2013 awards

The International Commission on Mathematical Instruction (ICMI) announces the following 2013 awards for outstanding achievement in mathematics education research:
• The Felix Klein Award, honoring a lifetime achievement, is awarded to Michèle Artigue, professor emerita, Université Paris Diderot - Paris 7, France, in recognition of her more than thirty years of sustained, consistent, and outstanding lifetime achievements in mathematics education research and development.

Stephen Smale Prize: Call for nominations

The second Stephen Smale Prize will be awarded during the meeting Foundations of Computational Mathematics (FoCM) in Montevideo in December 2014. Nominations are invited and should be sent to FoCM secretary Antonella Zanna at:
Deadline: 24:00 (GMT), March 10, 2014.

Call for applications for the 2nd Heidelberg Laureate Forum

The Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation (HLFF) is looking for outstanding young mathematicians and computer scientists from all over the world who would like to get the chance to personally meet distinguished experts from both disciplines and find out how to become a leading scientist in their field. Applications for the one of the sought-after spots at the Forum will be accepted until February 28, 2014. Applications must be submitted online at:
For more information on the HLF, go to

EU-MATHS-IN released

Press release: Mathematics has become a key enabling technology in all areas of science and technology. The development of new products or production processes today is dominated by the use of simulation and optimization methods, that, based on a detailed mathematical modeling, support or even replace the costly production of prototypes and classical trial-and-error methods.

Heinz Hopf Prize and Lectures

The first Heinz Hopf Lecture will be given by Helmut Hofer (Princeton) on December 3, 2013 at 17:15 in HG G 60 (Aula). The second Heinz Hopf Lecture will be given by Yakov Eliashberg (Stanford) on December 4, 2013 at 17:15 in HG F 1. The title of the lectures is "From dynamical systems to geometry and back".
The Prize ceremony will take place after the first lecture on December 3, 2013 at 18:15 in HG G 60 (Aula). The prize will be presented by Prof. Dr. R. Siegwart, Vice President of ETH, and the laudatio will be given by Prof. Dr. G. Wuestholz, Chair of the Heinz Hopf Committee.

Fermat Prize 2013 awarded to de Lellis and Hairer

The Fermat Prize awarded once every two years by the Institut de Mathématiques de Toulouse has been awarded jointly to Camillo De Lellis for his fundamental contributions (in collaboration with László Székelyhidi) to the conjecture of Onsager about dissipative solutions of the Euler-equations and for his work to the regularity of minimal surfaces; and to Martin Hairer for his contributions to the analysis of stochastic partial differential equations, especially for the regularity of their solutions and convergence to the equilibrium.

European parliament approves Horizon 2020

Horizon 2020, the EU's €70.2 billion framework programme for research and innovation in 2014-2020, was approved by MEPs on Thursday. Parliament amended it to improve support for small firms, attract more people into science and more scientists to join the programme, and earmark funding for non-fossil energy research.