News from the EMS

Latest news for mathematicians and members of the European Mathematical Society.

Differential Geometry Days. In honour of Luis A. Cordero (Santiago de Compostela, Spain, June 27-29, 2012)

Luis A. Cordero has been Full Prof. of Geometry and Topology since 1976 at La Laguna Univ. and at Santiago de Compostela Univ. (USC, Spain) since 1979. The Institute of Math. of the USC in colaboration with Basque Country Univ. (UPV/EHU, Spain) and CSIC (Spain), is organising the "Differential Geometry Days" on the occasion of his 65th birthday. Current research topics in Differential Geometry will be treated during this conference.
Santiago de Compostela (Spain), June 27-29, 2012.

EMS lectures at Institut Mittag-Leffler of Karen Vogtmann

The EMS lectures at Inst Mittag-Leffler of Karen Vogtmann are fixed as follows:

Tuesday, March 6, 14:00-15:00
Wednesday, March 7, 14:00-15:00
Thursday, March 8, 14:00-15:00

Title: The topology and geometry of automorphism groups of free groups.

Abstract: Free groups, free abelian groups and fundamental groups of
closed orientable surfaces are the most basic and well-understood
examples of infinite discrete groups. The automorphism groups of
these groups, in contrast, are some of the most complex and intriguing

ERC advanced grants to 294 senior top researchers in Europe

With a budget of just over €660 million, the European Research Council (ERC) is funding 294 top researchers in the fourth competition for its coveted Advanced Grants. This Advanced Grant call attracted 2284 proposals, which is a 13% rise from the last call. The estimated total budget also increased by 12% from last year. The success rate remains stable at 13%. 17 of the advanced grants go to mathematicians.
More information:

Ramanujan Prize 2012: Call for Nominations

The Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing countries, instituted by the ICTP, the Abel Memorial Fund and the IMU, is awarded annually to a researcher from a developing country, who must be less than 45 years of age on 31 December of the year of the award, and who has conducted outstanding research in a developing country. The Prize carries a $15,000 cash award. The winner will be invited to the ICTP to receive the Prize and deliver a lecture.
The deadline for receipt of nominations for the 2012 Prize is 1 April 2012.

Fermat Prize to Bhargava and Rodianski

The Fermat Prize 2011 has been awarded jointly to Manjul Bhargava for his work on various generalizations of the Davenport-Heilbronn estimates and for his recent startling results (with Arul Shankar) on the average rank of elliptic curves; and to Igor Rodnianski for his fundamental contributions to the studies of the equations of general relativity and to the propagation of the light on the space-time curves (in collaboration with Mihalis Dafermos, Sergiu Klainerman, and Hans Lindblad).
More information (in French):

Crafoord Prize in Mathematics 2012 to Bourgain and Tao

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Crafoord Prize in Mathematics 2012 to
Jean Bourgain, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA and Terence Tao,University of California, Los Angeles, USA,
“for their brilliant and groundbreaking work in harmonic analysis, partial differential equations, ergodic theory, number theory, combinatorics, functional analysis and theoretical computer science”.

2012 Wolf Prize in Mathematics to Aschbacher and Caffarelli

The 2012 Wolf Prize in Mathematics has been awarded to Michael Aschbacher for his work on the theory of finite groups, and Luis Caffarelli for his work on partial differential equations.
Aschbacher is the Shaler Arthur Hanisch Professor of Mathematics at the California Institute of Technology. Caffarelli is Professor of Mathematics at the University of Texas, Austin.
The awards will be presented in May at the Knesset in Jerusalem.

Philibert Nang from Gabon wins the Ramanujan Prize

Professor Philibert Nang (44), École Normale Supérieure, Laboratoire de Recherche en Mathématiques, Libreville, Gabon, has been named the winner of the 2011 Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries.
More information:

EMS lecturer 2012: Kristian Seip (NTNU Trondheim, Norway)

Kristian Seip (NTNU Trondheim, Norway) was appointed as EMS-lecturer 2012. He will give a series of lectures “Selected problems in operator-related function theory and harmonic analysis” at CRM (Bellaterra, Spain), Tel Aviv (Israel), and St. Petersburg (Russia).
More information:

6 ECM: Satellite meetings

So far, 17 conferences and workshops have been given the status of satellite meeting associated to the 6th European Congress of Mathematics in Krakow, Poland.
See the list at
Further submissions of satellite activities are still welcome at

Polish president Bronislaw Komorowski honorary patron of the 6ECM

Mr. Bronislaw Komorowski, the President of Poland, has graciously agreed to become the honorary patron of the 6ECM.
In a letter to the organisers, his Chief of Staff wrote that this fact reflected the President's appreciation of the importance of the meeting and of the contribution of Polish mathematicians to the development of world mathematics.

Abel committee meeting and seminar in India

The Abel Committee is in the process of evaluating candidates for the 2012 Abel Prize.
The committee will meet in Mumbai, India 24-25 February 2012.
The committee members will give lectures at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research the day before.
More information:

Mathematics for Planet Earth 2013: First Newsletter published

Find the first Newsletter for MPE 2013 at

Nominations Solicited for Blackwell–Tapia Prize

Nominations are solicited for the sixth Blackwell–Tapia Prize, which will be awarded at a conference to be held at the Institute for Computational and Experimental Research in Mathematics (ICERM) on November 9–10, 2012.

Fermat Prize 2011 awarded to Bhargava and Rodnianski

The 2011 Fermat Prize of Mathematical research has been awarded to
Manjul Bhargava, for his work on various generalizations of the Davenport-Heilbronn estimates and for his startling recent results (obtained with A. Shankar) on the average rank of elliptic curves, and
Igor Rodnianski (Princeton and MIT) for his fundamental contributions tothe study of the equations of General Relativity and of the propagation of light on curved space-times (obtained with M. Dafermos,
S. Klainerman, H. Lindblad).