News from the EMS

Latest news for mathematicians and members of the European Mathematical Society.

Institut Mittag-Leffler call for proposals

Calls for proposals
for programs in
mathematical sciences
for the academic year
at Institut Mittag-Leffler

Further information:
- scienctific program - call for proposals

Albrecht Dold 1928 - 2011

Albrecht Dold, one of the pioneers in Algebraic Topology, passed away on September 26, 2011.
More information: ,

Heinz Hopf Prize 2011 to Michael Rapoport

The Heinz Hopf Prize 2011 at ETH Zurich has been awarded to Michael Rapoport (University of Bonn, Germany).
The award ceremony for the Heinz Hopf Prize 2011 will take place on October 25, 2011 at 6 pm in HG G60 (Aula); the prize will be presented by Prof. Dr. Ralph Eichler, President of ETH Zurich and the laudatio will be given by Prof. Dr. Gerd Faltings (MPI Bonn). The Heinz Hopf Lectures entitled HOW GEOMETRY MEETS ARITHMETIC will be on October 25 and 27, 2011 in HG G60 (Aula) at 5 pm.

Mario Wschebor 1939-2011

Mario Wschebor, Professor at the Universidad de la República (Montevideo, Uruguay), passed away on the 16th of September 2011. After graduation in Uruguay, Wschebor moved to France to pursue his education in analysis and probability. In 1972, he defended a Ph. D. thesis at the University of Paris-Sud (Orsay) supervised by Jean Pierre Kahane. Persecuted for his beliefs during the dictatorship period 1973-1985 in Uruguay, he went to exile first in Argentina and then, once more for political reasons, in Venezuela.

Mikael Passare 1959-2011

Mikael Passare, Professor of mathematics at Stockholm University, passed away on the 15 September 2011 in a tragic accident. Passare received a doctorate in mathematics in 1984 from Uppsala University. He had been deputy director of the Institut Mittag-Leffler, chairman of the Swedish Mathematical Society, and member of the Swedish National Committee for Mathematics at the Royal Academy of Sciences. He conducted research in the theory of residues in several complex variables and in the last years mainly on the theory of amoebas and partly on their links to tropical geometry.

CRM Barcelona: Call for Research Programmes 2013-2014

The Centre de Recerca Matemàtica (CRM) invites proposals for Research Programmes for the
academic year 2013-2014.
CRM Research Programmes consist of periods ranging between two to five months of intensive
research in a given area of mathematics and its applications. Researchers from different institutions
are brought together to work on open problems and to analyse the state and perspectives of their area.
Guidelines and application instructions can be found at

ICTP launches iTunes U site

The Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) has joined iTunes U, the iTunes Store area that offers free, downloadable educational content from leading educational institutions. ICTP on iTunes U features over 240 videos of lectures, conferences, video interviews, documentary films, and important historical video footage of prominent 20th century physicists, as well as physics and mathematics courses offered by ICTP through its Postgraduate Diploma Program. Most content is available in English. Access is via .

ERC starting grants: Over €670 million to 480 emerging research leaders, among them 23 mathematicians

The European Research Council (ERC) is supporting some 480 early-career researchers over the coming five years with grants worth up to €2 million each. In this fourth 'ERC Starting Grant' competition, just over €670 million is allocated to top talent to carry out their pioneering research in any domain throughout Europe. The number of applications increased by 42% compared to last year. Press release:

ERC grants: New Synergy grants - deadlines

The European Research Council ERC has launched a new type of granting scheme that will fund small excellent research teams. ERC Synergy Grants are intended to enable a small group of Principal Investigators and their teams to bring together complementary skills, knowledge, and resources in new ways, in order to jointly address research problems.The aim is to promote substantial advances in the frontiers of knowledge, and to encourage new productive lines of enquiry and new methods and techniques. ERC Synergy Grants can amount up to € 15 mio per grant; each grant for up to 6 years.

Guardian article accuses academic publishers for outrageous pricing policy

Here is a link to the article Academic publishers make Murdoch look like a socialist.

Have a look at the gallery of past presidents at the EMS web site!

The history of the European Mathematical Society (founded in 1990) becomes alive on the new Gallery of Past Presidents established by former EMS publicity officer David Salinger, Leeds, UK.

IMS announces 18 new fellows, among them EMS-president Marta Sanz-Solé

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics has selected 18 new fellows named at the Joint Statistical Meetings/IMS Annual Meeting in Miami, Florida, USA:
One of the new fellows is EMS-president Marta Sanz-Solé, who received the award for influential work in a variety of branches of stochastic analysis, including anticipating calculus, large deviations and especially the application of Malliavin calculus to stochastic partial differential equations; and for leadership within the European Mathematical Society.

Rating of mathematical journal by expert mathematicians?

A working group formed jointly by the IMU and ICIAM has put forward a report with suggestions on how to counteract negative aspects of assessment of mathematical research by bibliometric data alone. The group has considered how the IMU and ICIAM could undertake an honest, careful rating of journals based on the judgement of expert mathematicians.
The report is available at .

First Stephen Smale Prize awarded to Snorre Christiansen

The first Stephen Smale Prize was awarded at the FoCM'11 meeting in Budapest on July 14th, 2011 to Prof. Snorre H. Christiansen, University of Oslo. Christiansen received the Smale prize for his pioneering work on the foundation of computational mathematics. Most of his work is motivated by the design of numerical methods for various equations arising in physics, and he has made substantial contributions to a number of key areas related to modern scientific computing.

Prize for Dissemination of Science to member of EMS RPA committee

Raul Ibañez (Department of Mathematics, Universidad País Vasco, Spain) has received the Prize for Dissemination of Science 2011, awarded by COSCE (Confederation of National Associations of Spain). This initiative intends to encourage scientists to disseminate their work and knowledge to society in general.