News from the EMS

Latest news for mathematicians and members of the European Mathematical Society.

1. day of EMS council in Krakow

Council had to make two important decisions on its first meeting day in Krakow:
1. The Kosovar Mathematical Society was accepted (by secret ballot) as new corporate member of the society.
2. Council decided that the 7th European Congress of Mathematics in 2016 will take place in Berlin.
Among other items, council approved the treasurer's report and accepted the budget proposal for the years 2013-2014. Fees, that had been stable since 2008, will raise by 4-5%.

Dutch Mathematician Ieke Moerdjik wins the Spinoza Prize

Ieke Moerdijk, professor of Algebra and Topology at Radboud University Nijmegen, has won the Spinoza Prize, the highest award in science in the Netherlands. The award consists in the amount of 2.5 million euros intended to fund research and is awarded annually by NWO, the Dutch National Science Foundation.

EMS council in Krakow, June 30 - July 1

Every two years, the EMS organizes a meeting of its governing body, the council. Delegates of mathematical societies, mathematical institutes and of the individual members meet to discuss recent and future activities of the society, conditions of mathematicians all over Europe, and initiatives to be taken in the future. The meeting in 2012 takes place in the weekend June 30 - July 1 in Krakow (Poland), just before the opening of the 6th European Congress of Mathematics; around 100 mathematicians will participate.

Brazilian mathematician named Ramanujan Prize winner

Fernando Codá Marques (32) of Instituto Nacional de Matemática Pura e Aplicada, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil is named the winner of the 2012 Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries. Marques has made several major contributions to differential geometry, solving and yielding results from numerous problems mathematicians have been working on for decades. He will receive the prize at an award ceremony at ICTP in Trieste, Italy later this year.

Alan Turing centenary

June 23, 2012, is the Centenary of Alan Turing’s birth in London. During his relatively brief life, Turing made a unique impact on the history of computing, computer science, artificial intelligence, developmental biology, and the mathematical theory of computability.
2012 will be a celebration of Turing’s life and scientific impact, with a number of major events taking place throughout the year. Most of these will be linked to places with special significance in Turing’s life, such as Cambridge, Manchester and Bletchley Park.

6ECM approaching: Third announcement

The 6th European Congress of Mathematics will take place in the week July 2 - July 7 in Krakow, Poland. During the opening ceremony on Monday, July 2, several prestigious prizes established by the EMS will be awarded: 10 EMS prizes to young mathematicians under the age of 35, the Felix Klein prize for the solution of a difficult industrial problem and the Otto Neugebauer prize for highly original and influential work in the field of history of mathematics.

Jean-Louis Loday 1946-2012

Jean-Louis Loday died as a consequence of an accident on June 6 atSables d'Olonne. Jean-Louis Loday was research director at the department of mathematics at Strasbourg; he was a specialist in algebraic topology. Jean-Louis Loday has spent his entire career in Strasbourg. His contributions to algebraic K-theory, his research linking cyclic homology, K-theory, combinatorics, and his foundational work on operads have lasting impact on the development of algebra and topology.

CRM invites young researchers from developing countries

The DevMath-CRM Program (Supporting Maths in Developing World) aims to support mathematical research in developing countries. In the frame of this program, the CRM will host, for stays ranging between 1 and 3 months, young researchers wishing to participate in a research program of the CRM, or temporarily joining a research group of the CRM or of another Catalan institution.
Candidates must submit their application before July 15, 2012. An answer will be given during the month of July.

IMU solicits nominations for IMU-prizes to be awarded in 2014

Nominations of candidates for the Fields Medal, the Rolf Nevanlinna Prize, the Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize, the Chern Medal Award, the Leelavati Prize, and the ICM Emmy Noether Lecture to be awarded at the International Congress of Mathematicians 2014 can be submitted to the Prize Committee Chairs and should ideally be sent by December 31, 2012 to the Prize Committee Chairs.
More information:

Shaw Prize to Maxim Kontsevich

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences will be awarded to Professor Maxim L Kontsevich, permanent professor at l’Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, France, for his pioneering works in algebra, geometry and mathematical physics and in particular deformation quantization, motivic integration and mirror symmetry.

Free online access to JEMS for individual EMS members

1. Go to
2. Go to the member database.
3. Log in, using your member username and password.
4. Go to JEMS.
5. This takes you to the web site of the EMS publishing house. Go to publications, then journals, then JEMS.
5. Now you can download any article you like.

(a) Once you are happily browsing through JEMS, you may forget that you are logged in to the membership database, and simply exit without going back and logging out. Do not worry: the system eventually logs out the "sleepers".

Friedrich Hirzebruch 1927 - 2012

The first president of the European Mathematical Society, Friedrich Hirzebruch, has passed away. Fritz Hirzebruch studied mathematics at Münster. In 1956 he became professor at Bonn where he remained until his retirement. In 1980 he founded the Max-Planck-Institut fur Mathematik, serving as Director until 1995. His profound contributions to mathematics – in applications of topology to algebraic manifolds and number theory – and to German mathematical life, were honoured by many prizes, including that of the Wolf foundation in 1988 and the Georg Cantor medal of the DMV in 2004.

Ricardo Cortez Awarded Blackwell-Tapia Prize

The National Blackwell-Tapia Committee recently announced Ricardo Cortez, Tulane University's Pendergraft William Larkin Duren Professor of Mathematics, was awarded the 2012 Blackwell-Tapia Prize. The prize recognizes a mathematical scientist who has contributed significantly to research in his or her field of expertise and who has served as a role model for mathematical scientists and students from underrepresented minority groups or has contributed in other significant ways to addressing the problem of the underrepresentation of minorities in mathematics. Dr.

Heidelberg Laureates Forum initiated

The Klaus Tschira Stiftung will establish the „Heidelberg Laureates Forum“ as an annual meeting bringing together the winners of the most prestigious scientific awards in Mathematics (Abel Prize and Fields Medal) and Computer Science (Turing Award) with a select group of highly talented young researchers. The Forum has been initiated by the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies(HITS), the research institute of the Klaus Tschira Stiftung (KTS) - a German foundation, which promotes natural sciences, mathematics and computer science.

6ECM:Schedule online

The schedule for the 6th European Congress of Mathematics in Krakow in the first week of July is now available online at