Recent News

The Oberwolfach Library terminates contract with Elsevier

The Mathematisches Forschungsinstitut Oberwolfach Library cancelled all subscriptions to online journals provided by Elsevier Publishing. From January 2017, the current issues of all Elsevier journals will no longer be accessible online.

The cancellation came about during negotiations with Elsevier which were being conducted by the DEAL project group. The DEAL Project represents more than 100 negotiation mandates by German universities and research institutions. In close consultation with the DEAL project group, some 60 German academic and research institutions decided against prolonging their individual contracts with Elsevier after 2016.

Fri, 20 Jan 2017
Fefferman and Schoen win 2017 Wolf Prize

Charles Fefferman, Princeton University, and Richard Schoen, University of California, Irvine, have been named the winners of the 2017 Wolf Prize in Mathematics for "their striking contributions to analysis and geometry."

Thu, 19 Jan 2017
Message from the President, January 1, 2017

Dear EMS members, dear friends,

Any society's life contains both climactic and anticlimactic periods. The year just concluded was full of major events, but while the New Year promises many things we look forward to, it is day-to-day work which will provide the Leitmotiv of the coming months. This includes the implementation of the decisions taken at our Council meeting in Berlin last summer. To begin with, the society's leadership has been substantially renewed. With deep gratitude for their devoted work we part with Franco Brezzi and Martin Raussen, and we wish success to Volker Mehrmann and Armen Sergeev who replace them as the society's vice-presidents. We also thank the other departing members of the Executive Committee: Alice Fialowski, Gert-Martin Greuel, and Laurence Halpern. We welcome the new members: Nicola Fusco, Stefan Jackowski, Vicente Muñoz, Beatrice Pelloni, and Betül Tanbay.

Equally important is the renewal of our standing committees, which form the backbone of the EMS. Around half their Chairs and a number of members have reached the end of their tenure. Their replacements were decided at the recent meeting of the Executive Committee in Tbilisi. Let me express here our gratitude to all of them, with personal thanks to follow separately. In some committees, the changes run particularly deep. This is especially true for the Education Committee, which will see a majority of new members. We wish them success and hope that the committee's scope will broaden, and include some hands-on activities.

Sat, 31 Dec 2016
Switzerland becomes fully associated to Horizon 2020

Swiss researchers and organisations will now be able to fully participate in Horizon 2020, the European Union's research and innovation funding programme, on equal terms with entities from EU Member States and other associated countries.
On 1 January 2017, Switzerland will become fully associated to Horizon 2020.

Sat, 24 Dec 2016
Abel in Barcelona

On behalf of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters and in collaboration with the Catalan Mathematical Society, the Institute of Catalan Studies is hosting a one-day symposium on the occasion of the meeting of the Abel Committee in Barcelona, in which it will offer three lectures addressed to a broad mathematical audience.

The speakers at the Symposium are: Louis Nirenberg (Abel Laureate 2015), Luigi Ambrosio and Ben Green (members of the Abel Committee).

Tue, 20 Dec 2016
2017 Breakthrough Prize to Jean Bourgain

The 2017 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics has been awarded to Jean Bourgain (Institute for Advanced Study) for "combining deep theoretical insights with ingenious problem-solving ability" and for "an enormous impact on mathematics over the past forty years". The 2017 New Horizons in Mathematics Prize was awarded to Mohammed Abouzaid (Columbia University), Hugo Duminil-Copin (University of Geneva), and jointly to Benjamin Elias (University of Oregon) and Geordie Williamson (Kyoto University). Duminil-Copin and Williamson were among the winners of the EMS prizes earlier this year.

Tue, 20 Dec 2016
EMS e-News 21, December 2016



- The EC meeting

The EMS Executive Committee (EC) held its regular autumn meeting 4-6 November, this time in Tbilisi on the kind invitation of the Georgian Mathematical Society. A number of decisions were taken including the renewal of EMS committees and support for scientific activities in 2017.


- The Simons Foundation support of Mathematics in Africa The EC discussed how the generous Mathematics in Africa grants from the Simons Foundation (see previous e-news) will be administered. The scheme devised by the EMS Committee on Developing Countries was approved and will be soon launched. (See below the item "Committee on Developing Countries".)


- Scientific activities in 2016

Due to the healthy budgetary situation, the EMS was able to support a number of scientific activities this year including eight summer schools, a distinguished speaker, the Joint EMS-Bernoulli Society Lecture, and others.


- Society good standing in focus

The EMS has always showed understanding for regional societies having temporary difficulties in fulfilling their duties as members. We expect, however, that they show the intention to resolve their situation. If this is not the case, the EC could recommend to the Council to reconsider the membership of such a society.



Tue, 13 Dec 2016
2017 AMS Prizes Awarded

Andras Vasy of Stanford University will receive the 2017 AMS Bôcher Prize.

Henri Darmon of McGill University will receive the 2017 AMS Cole Prize in Number Theory.

Laura DeMarco of Northwestern University will receive the 2017 AMS Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics.

John Friedlander of the University of Toronto and Henryk Iwaniec of Rutgers University will receive the 2017 AMS Joseph L. Doob Prize.

László Erdős of the Institute of Science and Technology Austria and Horng-Tzer Yau of Harvard University will receive the 2017 AMS Leonard Eisenbud Prize for Mathematics and Physics.

Fri, 2 Dec 2016
ICM 2022 to be held in Paris or in St. Petersburg

The International Mathematical Union (IMU) received two bids for hosting the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) in 2022: Paris, France; and St. Petersburg, Russia. Both bids have the support of the European Mathematical Society.
The Executive Committee of the IMU will make site visits,and based on this and the bids, it will make a recommendation to the General Assembly which will decide on the venue of ICM 2022 at its meeting in São Paulo 29-30 July, 2018 prior to the ICM 2018 in Rio de Janeiro.

Fri, 2 Dec 2016
Call for Nominations for the Ramanujan Prize 2017

The Ramanujan Prize is awarded annually to a researcher from a developing country who is less than 45 years of age on 31 December of the
year of the award, and who has conducted outstanding research in a developing country.

The deadline for receipt of nominations for the 2017 Prize is 1 February 2017.

Wed, 23 Nov 2016